This site demands javascript

skip to main content
Sheridan County School District #2 > Meadowlark Elementary News > Meadowlark Earns Second National Blue Ribbon Award

Meadowlark Earns Second National Blue Ribbon Award


Sheridan, WYO – Sheridan County School District No. 2 (SCSD2) is proud to announce that Meadowlark Elementary School has been designated an Exemplary High Performing National Blue Ribbon School for 2019 by U. S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos. Meadowlark is one of 362 schools in the nation and one of two schools from Wyoming to be recognized in 2019. 

Craig Dougherty, SCSD2 Superintendent, shared that “Meadowlark has been a high performing school for well over a decade. The students at Meadowlark work hard as learners and the staff are dedicated to student learning across the board. We are proud of this recognition and believe it is well deserved by the whole Meadowlark family.”

According to the U.S. Department of Education, “the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes outstanding public and non-public schools… [T]he program celebrates school excellence, turn around stories, and closing subgroup achievement gaps. The Award is both a high aspiration and a potent resource of practitioner knowledge.” (

Meadowlark principal, Christy Spielman, commented, “It is an honor to work with such a dedicated staff. These are educators who will do anything to meet the needs of our students. We work hard at fostering a community of learners and making sure we meet the needs of every child who walks through our doors.”

This is the second Blue Ribbon award for Meadowlark in the “Exemplary High Performing” schools category. Schools earning this distinction “have their state’s highest high school graduation rates and the highest achieving students (the top 15%) in English and mathematics, measured by state assessments.” (

Meadowlark will be honored at an awards ceremony in Washington, DC, where representatives will receive a plaque and flag to signify the school’s exemplary status. Meadowlark will also host a celebration at the school for students, staff, and parents. The SCSD2 Board of Trustees will host a recognition for Meadowlark at their October 7 meeting. 

Along with Meadowlark, Sagebrush Elementary is also a two-time Blue Ribbon award winner. Henry A. Coffeen, Highland Park, Woodland Park, and Sheridan Junior High School are also Blue Ribbon schools.