This site demands javascript

skip to main content
Sheridan County School District #2 > Potsdam Agreement Map

Potsdam Agreement Map

The Conference agreed on the creation of a Council of Foreign Ministers representing the five main powers, continuing the preliminary work essential for peace agreements and taking on other issues that could sometimes be entrusted to the Council, by mutual agreement between the governments concerned by the Council. The establishment of the Council in question did not contradict the agreement of the Crimean conference that there should be regular meetings between the foreign ministers of the three governments. After the text of the council`s institution agreement, it was decided:[7] “The Allies recognise that Poland must receive significant compensation to the north and west… But Poland has indeed been granted an area of occupation contrary to our agreement. We can agree if we want to give the Poles an area of occupation, but I do not like the way the Poles have taken or maintained their area. Despite many disagreements, Allied leaders managed to reach some agreements in Potsdam. Negotiators thus confirmed the status of Germany demilitarized and disarmed among the four zones of the Allied occupation. According to the protocol of the conference, there should be “complete disarmament and demilitarization of Germany”; all aspects of German industry that could be used for military purposes should be removed; all German military and paramilitary forces should be eliminated; and the manufacture of all military equipment in Germany was prohibited. In addition, German society should be redeveloped by the repeal of all discriminatory laws of the Nazi era and by the arrest and trial of Germans considered “war criminals” on the democratic model. The German education and judicial system should be purged of all authoritarian influence and democratic political parties would be encouraged to participate in the management of Germany at the local and national levels. However, the re-establishment of a German national government was postponed indefinitely and the Allied Control Commission (composed of four occupying powers, the United States, Great Britain, France and the Soviet Union) would rule the country during the interregnum. Nevertheless, the three heads of state agreed on the practicalities of Germany`s complete disarmament, the abolition of the NSDAP, the trial of war criminals and the amount to be paid as compensation.

The negotiations also confirmed the need to dismantle German industry and sequester powerful groups that were to be divided into small independent enterprises.