This site demands javascript

skip to main content
Sheridan County School District #2 > Border Agreements With China

Border Agreements With China

The Republic of China, which now has its seat in Taiwan and is generally known as Taiwan, does not recognize any Chinese territorial changes based on border agreements signed by the People`s Republic of China with other countries, including this one, in accordance with the Constitution of the Republic of China and its supplementary articles. Pakistan does not recognize the ROC as a state. [11] By signing the Simla Agreement with Tibet, the British had violated the Anglo-Russian Convention of 1907, in which both sides were not to negotiate with Tibet, “except through the mediation of the Chinese government,” as well as the Anglo-Chinese Convention of 1906, which obliged the British government “not to annex Tibetan territory.” [30] Due to doubts about the legal status of the agreement, the British did not put the McMahon line on their cards until 1937 and did not publish the Simla Convention in the Treaty Protocol until 1938. China opposed Tibet`s 1913 declaration of independence, arguing that the De Simla Convention and the McMahon Line were illegal and that the Tibetan government was just a local government without contractual powers. [13] In 1960, Indian and Chinese officials met on the basis of an agreement between Nehru and Zhou Enlai to resolve the border dispute. [27] China and India disagreed on the large water basin that defined the boundary in Sector West. [27]:96 Chinese statements regarding their border claims have often mispresented the sources cited. [41] Signed on 23 October 2013 in Beijing. An English text of the agreement can be found in the Indian MEA Media Center and in the UN Peacemakers database. According to Ankit Panda of The Diplomat, the 10-article agreement lists several mechanisms to reduce misunderstandings and improve communications between the two countries along their controversial border.